About Me

My photo
I completed my first ING New York City Marathon on November 1st, 2009 in 4 hours 55 minutes and 5 seconds. This will be my fourth marathon and I am going to bust my butt to break 4 hours on November 7th, 2010.

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

New Marathon Blog

I have started a new blog for the 2010 Colorado Marathon. coloradomarathon.blogspot.com

Monday, May 4, 2009

No longer a marathon virgin

I still can't believe it is over....even 24 hours later. All of the work and the time put into this one event. The range of emotions that I have felt over the last 48 hours is as varied as I think I have ever experienced. I have never treasured an object as much as that little medal that says 2009 Colorado Marathon. This is how I earned it....

I went to bed around 11 PM on Saturday night. I knew I was not going to sleep much so I figured I would enjoy hanging out with my sister and brother-in-law and their family down in Windsor. Earlier in the evening, they took me to Johnny Corinos. I had a big bowl of bow tie pasta mixed with a meat red sauce. It was ok. Felt like I ate because I needed to, not because it sounded the best. I hoped it would give me some extra storage of carbs for the next day. I spent some time during the night trying to get my Ipod playlist just right (it would not matter, because I did something that returned all my work to the original playlist...but no matter). I set out all of my clothes and things that I would need the next day.

I woke up at 3:00. I did not fall asleep for very long and figure I probably slept about 2 hours. I stumbled in the shower and laid down for a second and tried to loosen up my muscles. After I showed and applied some neosporin to areas to help with chaffing I got dressed and headed down stairs. I was hoping to have a bagel with some peanut butter, but all I saw was some bread so I had that. I was out the door by 3:46.

It was strange driving around in the dark in the morning. Once I got off the highway and headed towards town I started to see other runners driving towards the bus loading area. After I parked in the garage I walked towards the buses. I found my seat and this guy from Colo Springs sat next to me. I was thinking of taking a nap on the ride up....but ended up talking time. When we arrived, we were allowed to stay on the bus until 5:30 in order to stay warm. I had made the decision earlier to just wear my shorts and shirt. I did not want to have to deal with extra clothing that I would have to take off along the run. It was chilly, but to be honest, it was not all that cold to me. I think the weather in Laramie helped me get ready for the start temperature.
I was walking around trying to get my feel for where everything was when I heard someone say my name. It was Jon, I person that I met online that had kind of taken me under his wing and really helped me the last couple of months with my training and mental preparation. He called me over and we talked. Jon is someone who I aspire to emulate on a limited basis. He has really become a solid runner over the years. It was nice to actually meet him. After a few minutes another person I met online Victoria came over. She is a true runner's runner. She ended up being 3 overall in the woman's group. A little while later Kal (although I think his name is Aaron) came by. The day before I met Kal and Victoria for a little get-together at a place in Fort Collins. He was very supportive the day before and that morning. It felt nice not feeling so alone when I arrived at the start.

I decided to go back to almost the very end of the pack. I wanted to run my race, and knew I would do better if I did not have so much energy trying to push my to run faster in the middle. I stretched a bit and made a little small talk with a couple of people around me. After the start, I was surprised how long it took for the line in front of me to get moving. After my foot touched the mat that times the chip I knew I had begun my marathon....

The first mile felt pretty good. I went slow and ended up right at an 11 minute mile...I thought this pace was good and would help me stay consistent. I had some mix-ups mentally and forgot that I should leave one of my watches on the start time so I would know how long I had to finish...this would come back to haunt me later. The views were out of this world. The sun was coming up, and there was still a bit of fog on the hills....it was one of the most glorious mornings I have ever witnessed. I average right around 11 minute miles up to mile 10. I decided to stop to use the port-a-potty and take a GU packet for some energy. While I was waiting in line I looked down and notice blood coming through my shirt. I thought I would be ok, but the chaffing was already horrible. I cursed myself for not shelling out the money for nipple guards when I had the chance. The line to get in went by slowly....I lost a lot of time but I am not sure how much.

It was hard to find a rhythm after my stop. Things seemed to be going by a lot slower. Concentrating on the scenery was not as easy. By the halfway mark I was going noticeably slower. The pain was starting to set in within my muscles. The constant downhill was really tearing me up.....but to be honest, I think the incline/decline from left to right was what was making me hurt. Running slightly lopsided is not something I am used to, and I could really feel the effects on my legs. It kept getting harder and harder to push through.

By mile 15 I had to take my first walking break. It was a mental let down (in my mind I was hoping to go the whole way without walking...ha ha....looking back it just cracks me up...I was an idiot). I am pretty sure that is when I hit the wall....right around 15. Both my legs just were in agony and I could not get back to tempo to save my life. Most of my training runs, that is when I ran into trouble....good information for the future. I knew Beth and my parents were hoping to show up at the first view area (Ted's Place) which I thought was mile 16, but it ended up being a bit past that. By 16 I was hobbling pretty bad. I would try to jog for a little then walk a bit, the pain just kept getting worse and worse. I started to have doubt in myself and my ability to do this.

Seeing Beth and my folks helped give me a mental boost. Beth had made a Go Sean sign and it made me smile. I stopped for a second to eat another GU and to try to get some life back in my legs. I hobbled on....

If any of you know 287 you know about the big rock formation that looks kind of like the Rock of Gibraltar just outside of town. The hill that is in front was the next segment. It was really difficult to keep going. A woman that started behind me in the race gave me some encouragement and told me I was doing great. She also warned me that the next hill was even steeper.....she was right.

At this point I need to give a big thank you to all the volunteers and well-wishers. They helped so much. It didn't matter how pathetic I looked at each station, they always cheered and told me how well I was doing. It helped.

Once I hit mile 18, each mile felt like it was taking an hour. I knew by that point that I would have a hard time getting to the finish line under 6 hours. My feet started to hurt in a way that I can't even describe. It was like they were being squeezed in a vice grip with each step. I had been on them for over 4 hours and they did not like it. By the time we turned on the bike path I was really hurting. Beth and my folks showed up and were waving the sign....it pushed me....

The bike path was brutal. Cement is the worst surface to run on for me. So unforgiving...especially after the pounding the legs take going downhill for almost 17 miles. I tried to go off the path whenever possible. By mile 22 I had to stop and sit for a few minutes. I tried to rub the tightness out of my legs. It felt like my feet were getting crunched harder and harder....like me shoes were way to tight....but they weren't it was just the pain.

When I made it just to mile 23 my sister and her family showed up with my family and Beth. My nephew Ben ran down the road and jogged with me a little while my sister took a picture. It was a nice diversion. It was hard to listen to the Ipod, it all started to sound like mush. After that water station I started what would be the hardest stretch for me.

I kept trying to jog whenever possible, my legs had some life, but my feet were just horrid. The miles felt like they were now taking a couple of hours to complete....all the while knowing my window for finishing was shrinking with each painful step.

I originally thought at mile 24 that I would let it all out for last 2.2....it was all I could do to not fall over and keep putting one foot in front of the other. I guy on a horse almost ran into me and that really freaked me out. He was turning the horse onto the trail from the pasture and didn't see me. Next thing I knew I am face to face with a large animal. It was odd....

I just kept moving...ever so slowly....but constant.....soon I was at mile 25....I felt like I had nothing left to give....but I wanted this more than anything so I just kept willing the legs I had so badly abused to keep going. I had no sense of how far away the finish line was....I couldn't see anything....that path just kept going and going and going.

After what felt like an eternity walking through hell I could see a bunch of kids running....I guesses I as getting close. A volunteer egged me on...."You are almost there!" I kept going....little kids running past me. I looked up and saw the finish clock....I was still under 6 hours....I could hear people shouting for me and it give me a new life....I started to push....faster and faster....I then heard the announcer say my name and I could hear the crowd at the finish cheering. I threw every once of what was in my body into my legs....me left calf felt like it was ripping but I didn't care. The end of my journey was withing reach and I wanted to finish with pride. I am sure I was not going fast....but I am just as sure that I went as fast as my body could go at that point. I crossed the finish line and concluded my journey....I didn't beat many people....I was really slow...but I didn't care....this marathon was mine.

All in all, it feels amazing to have accomplished this. I was more than an hour later than the time I was shooting for. To be honest, I don't care. My chip time was 5 hours, 49 minutes, and 59 seconds.It is hard to believe it is over....

Because I am hoping to inspire and motivate others in my life, I am not going to describe what I feel like today :-p

Once my legs are better I will get back on the horse. I am hoping to get better over the course of the summer. I am not sure what the future will hold, but with any luck, it will hold more marathons.

Friday, May 1, 2009

The time is now

Again, I must apologize to the people that check here to see how things are going. I did get out a couple of days last week. Only did 2 the first day and then 3 the next. I wanted to do a nice long run on Saturday, but it just wasn't in the cards. I ended up doing 5 good miles....but no more. I went out for 3 miles Wednesday and Thursday this week. Thursday I pushed just to see what I had in the legs and it went well. I actually felt like I was running and not moving like some amorphous blob down the street. I think I might not do the 2 scheduled for tomorrow. It will be my first chance at a solid night's sleep in awhile.

I am meeting some other marathon runners from the Runnersworld forum tomorrow down in Ft. Collins. I am excited to meet some other people doing this marathon. I have become friends with a runner from Denver (hey Jon) who has helped me immensely and I am hopeful I will get to chat with him a little before the marathon, or maybe after.

I have been religiously checking the weather in the area. It looks like it will be very cool with some showers possible. I tend to like it cool when I run, but it looks like tween weather so I am not sure that shorts and tech shirt are the best clothing. I have all the songs in my Ipod and will spend a good chunk of time making the mix to end all mixes. Gotta find the best music for the moments when I need a little extra boost.

I am nervous for Sunday, I would be lying if I said otherwise. This will be a challenge unlike anything I have ever experienced. The last few months of training have finally lead to this climax. If I take stock of how I am physically....I right around 190 pounds...little heavier than I wanted....but I will take it. I have 3 blackened toenails and 1 missing toenail. The pain in my knee has gotten a little better due to the break from the intense running. I did miss some runs....but I feel like I am where I need to be physically. Mentally I will need to kick it in gear....I am racing against no one but myself. All the years of being the chubby guy, this is when I lose that mentality. I have accomplished more than I thought possible and am proud of that achievement. Only one more mountain to climb....or descend in this case. 26.2 miles.....

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all of you that have been reading and offering encouragement. While running can be a solitary sport....you are all a part of team Sean and I could not have made it this far without you!

Sunday, April 19, 2009

What now?

Well I came down with a bad case of the flu. I have not run since April 8th. I have missed 5 runs total. This includes two long runs specifically the 20 mile run that I have as the most important of the training cycle. I am still pretty sick. I haven't been able to shake either the light headed feeling, or the dizziness when I walk. I am within two weeks of the end of the semester and missed an entire week of class. The pressure right now is pretty tough to deal with. I have two huge projects that are not close to complete. So the weight of it all is tougher and tougher to push through. I am going to attempt to do an easy 2-3 mile jog on Tuesday. It will let me know if there is any chance of me making the starting line, or if I need to find another marathon a few weeks later. Just thought I would give you all an update. Thanks for the support.

Sean

Saturday, March 28, 2009

19 Mile Saturday

So to be honest, I was as nervous about this run as I have been about any run before. When I attempted to do 18 miles two weeks ago, I missed the distance by a lot. My longest run up to today had been 16.5 miles. I knew that today was going to be a tell tale sign of whether or not I could do this.

I got up a little later than I had hoped. Another long week and school work had me going. I made myself get up at 8. I could not find my balaclava and that stressed me out something fierce. The windchill was around 10 degrees and I knew if I did not have it my skin would get baked. I finally gave up. I put on sunscreen and a hat and took my chances.

I decided to keep all of the run in the east side of Laramie this week. I have this nagging suspicion that the dirt roads were not helping the knee problem. So to make the distance I had to do two large loops, followed by a hook that would take me home.

The first mile is usually one of the hardest for me and today was no exception. I was cold immediately and the wind was blowing strong. After the first two miles the cold was no longer an issue. The wind treated me poorly the whole run...but I live in Laramie....so I deal.

I did have my first run-in with a dog. I was about three miles in when I looked over my shoulder and saw this dog running at me. I turned to brace myself but the dog just ran up to me...sniffed...and went on his way. He ran closed to me for a few blocks and then took off. Hope he found his way home.

After the first fool loop, I was feeling pretty good. The left knee was hurting...but it felt manageable. By the time I had hit Grand again (10-11 miles I think), I believed I would get all the way through. It was a good feeling. I needed to have a successful go of it. The second time up the hill on 30th I was really starting to drag. The pain was really starting to get to me. I just told myself to not look at the incline and to focus looking down. It helped.

The last two miles were incredibly rough. It seemed to get more and more difficult to get my legs up. Each curb felt like an obstacle. By the time I reached the destination street I was going pretty slow. I was still not walking though...and that was the goal.

So I made it! The time wasn't great...but ok. I am just happy I was able to get through it. 3 hours, 12 mins, 12 secs. I am running a half-marathon next weekend down in Littleton. I am excited to get out there with other people. Thanks for reading.

Route:
This
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=S+30th+St+to:S+26th+St+to:Russell+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:41.321009,-105.557499&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdrgW1-Q%3BFZZVdgIdGFK1-Q%3BFZpCdgIdFEe1-Q%3BFc09dgIdxcK0-Q%3BFUCXdgIduNC0-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=5&sz=14&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.331387,-105.575523&sspn=0.03287,0.076904&ie=UTF8&z=14

Then this:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=41.320881,-105.557585&daddr=S+30th+St+to:S+26th+St+to:Russell+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:N+30th+St&hl=en&geocode=%3BFZZVdgIdGFK1-Q%3BFZpCdgIdFEe1-Q%3BFc09dgIdxcK0-Q%3BFUCXdgIduNC0-Q%3BFTeCdgIdUFG1-Q&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=0&sz=14&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.320429,-105.561962&sspn=0.032875,0.076904&ie=UTF8&z=14

Finally this:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=N+30th+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:Willett+Dr+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:N+7th+St+to:41.315949,-105.58784+to:N+7th+St+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=FRCBdgIdUFG1-Q%3BFchkdgId3FG1-Q%3BFb5kdgIdRUO1-Q%3BFctWdgIdoA61-Q%3BFQ5ldgIdmtq0-Q%3B%3BFVh1dgIdT9y0-Q%3BFVp1dgId2P60-Q&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=5&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5,6&sll=41.315723,-105.578141&sspn=0.016439,0.038452&ie=UTF8&ll=41.316465,-105.569215&spn=0.016439,0.038452&z=15

Addendum:
So putting this in only came up with 18 miles...grrr! Made the map yesterday. I am beyond annoyed. I guess if you added in walking I did 18.6...but that is not the point. Not sure why I keep having these issues with googlemaps. Anyway....takes some of the good feeling away....I will get this figured out one way or another.

This week

So I have been a total tool about updating the blog. I am sorry. I have been swamped with work and school. I did make my total mileage last weekend of 13 miles. It was really slow after taking those three days off in Vegas. I did get through it and that is what is important.

My runs during the week were all on the treadmill. As much as I am not a fan of the treadmill, it really helped this week. Not only did I find myself pushing all three runs...I also put in some solid core work. It is just really hard for me to get into my run there. There are a lot of other distractions and noises that just make it more difficult to find a groove. My run Tuesday was 51 minutes even...Wednesday was 49:34....and Thursday I pushed hard and got 47:24. All of the runs were five miles. I might make myself go again next week depending on the weather. I enjoy the scenery while running outside....but the scenery in the gym isn't half bad either!

Even though it is the same day...I am going to make a new blog post for my 19 mile run from earlier today. Thanks for reading.

Friday, March 20, 2009

Synopsis...sigh

Ok. So I have been really lax in getting this thing updated....I apologize. Things have been hectic and then I was without internet for 4 days...I will be brief and promise to be better from here on out. The runs from last week Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday all went ok. Saturday was the worst I have done. I only made it about 12 miles and then my legs just slowly shut down. I managed to walk 4 miles more before they just stopped working. It was a pretty terrifying experience to be completely honest. It really made me doubt my ability to get through all this. I think it was just the accumulation of all the stress and mileage on my body. I am really hoping that it does not happen again.

This week I went to Las Vegas for a few days of R and R. I planned on running in Vegas. I thought it would be cool to run on the strip. That was until a cab driver told me that a runner had been killed a litte while before while running on the strip....so I gave up that idea. The hotel where I was wanted $15.00 to use he treadmill a day. And I just wasn't up for it. So I took the daily runs during the week off. I have a 13 mile longish run planned for tomorrow. I am nervous because it has been a week since I ran (really a week...that is hard to believe). So I am anxious to get out and see what these legs have in them....