So I came down with some eye thing that made it so I couldn't wear my contacts for a few days. Something you probably don't care about....but it is important with regards to running. My eye-glass prescription is old and I have very little depth perception when I wear them. I noticed this Tuesday as I attempted to walk to class and almost fell down three times. The week has been horrible with coursework and exams and I did not get out Tuesday for the three miles owed. I drove around Tuesday seeing all this people out running and it really made me feel guilty....go to a confession and repent guilty. They were out there doing it, and I was acting like a weenie. I told myself I was going to get in the distance on my schedule no matter what.
I was finally able to put in my contacts yesterday afternoon and I decided to go up to the campus gym and put in my 3 miles on the dreadmill. The place was packed. I was completely shocked that at 7:10 on a Wednesday the place was full. I was able to get on a machine and got a false sense of confidence : "I run outside all the time...this will be easy. I will do hills and totally own them." So I decided to walk into a jog into my running pace. This went well for the first 15 minutes, then the dinner I so foolishly ate from Taco Johns let me know that I was an idiot. The last 15 minutes were very difficult and I have to make some speed concessions....but I got through it. And it felt great. I had a lot of homework but it all seems a little better after a run.
I am going to go out for 6 miles after class today. The weather is nice and I am stoked. I won't get a rest day before my long run....but it is ok....I am still running....
About Me
- sdowney509
- I completed my first ING New York City Marathon on November 1st, 2009 in 4 hours 55 minutes and 5 seconds. This will be my fourth marathon and I am going to bust my butt to break 4 hours on November 7th, 2010.
Thursday, February 5, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment