About Me

My photo
I completed my first ING New York City Marathon on November 1st, 2009 in 4 hours 55 minutes and 5 seconds. This will be my fourth marathon and I am going to bust my butt to break 4 hours on November 7th, 2010.

Monday, May 4, 2009

No longer a marathon virgin

I still can't believe it is over....even 24 hours later. All of the work and the time put into this one event. The range of emotions that I have felt over the last 48 hours is as varied as I think I have ever experienced. I have never treasured an object as much as that little medal that says 2009 Colorado Marathon. This is how I earned it....

I went to bed around 11 PM on Saturday night. I knew I was not going to sleep much so I figured I would enjoy hanging out with my sister and brother-in-law and their family down in Windsor. Earlier in the evening, they took me to Johnny Corinos. I had a big bowl of bow tie pasta mixed with a meat red sauce. It was ok. Felt like I ate because I needed to, not because it sounded the best. I hoped it would give me some extra storage of carbs for the next day. I spent some time during the night trying to get my Ipod playlist just right (it would not matter, because I did something that returned all my work to the original playlist...but no matter). I set out all of my clothes and things that I would need the next day.

I woke up at 3:00. I did not fall asleep for very long and figure I probably slept about 2 hours. I stumbled in the shower and laid down for a second and tried to loosen up my muscles. After I showed and applied some neosporin to areas to help with chaffing I got dressed and headed down stairs. I was hoping to have a bagel with some peanut butter, but all I saw was some bread so I had that. I was out the door by 3:46.

It was strange driving around in the dark in the morning. Once I got off the highway and headed towards town I started to see other runners driving towards the bus loading area. After I parked in the garage I walked towards the buses. I found my seat and this guy from Colo Springs sat next to me. I was thinking of taking a nap on the ride up....but ended up talking time. When we arrived, we were allowed to stay on the bus until 5:30 in order to stay warm. I had made the decision earlier to just wear my shorts and shirt. I did not want to have to deal with extra clothing that I would have to take off along the run. It was chilly, but to be honest, it was not all that cold to me. I think the weather in Laramie helped me get ready for the start temperature.
I was walking around trying to get my feel for where everything was when I heard someone say my name. It was Jon, I person that I met online that had kind of taken me under his wing and really helped me the last couple of months with my training and mental preparation. He called me over and we talked. Jon is someone who I aspire to emulate on a limited basis. He has really become a solid runner over the years. It was nice to actually meet him. After a few minutes another person I met online Victoria came over. She is a true runner's runner. She ended up being 3 overall in the woman's group. A little while later Kal (although I think his name is Aaron) came by. The day before I met Kal and Victoria for a little get-together at a place in Fort Collins. He was very supportive the day before and that morning. It felt nice not feeling so alone when I arrived at the start.

I decided to go back to almost the very end of the pack. I wanted to run my race, and knew I would do better if I did not have so much energy trying to push my to run faster in the middle. I stretched a bit and made a little small talk with a couple of people around me. After the start, I was surprised how long it took for the line in front of me to get moving. After my foot touched the mat that times the chip I knew I had begun my marathon....

The first mile felt pretty good. I went slow and ended up right at an 11 minute mile...I thought this pace was good and would help me stay consistent. I had some mix-ups mentally and forgot that I should leave one of my watches on the start time so I would know how long I had to finish...this would come back to haunt me later. The views were out of this world. The sun was coming up, and there was still a bit of fog on the hills....it was one of the most glorious mornings I have ever witnessed. I average right around 11 minute miles up to mile 10. I decided to stop to use the port-a-potty and take a GU packet for some energy. While I was waiting in line I looked down and notice blood coming through my shirt. I thought I would be ok, but the chaffing was already horrible. I cursed myself for not shelling out the money for nipple guards when I had the chance. The line to get in went by slowly....I lost a lot of time but I am not sure how much.

It was hard to find a rhythm after my stop. Things seemed to be going by a lot slower. Concentrating on the scenery was not as easy. By the halfway mark I was going noticeably slower. The pain was starting to set in within my muscles. The constant downhill was really tearing me up.....but to be honest, I think the incline/decline from left to right was what was making me hurt. Running slightly lopsided is not something I am used to, and I could really feel the effects on my legs. It kept getting harder and harder to push through.

By mile 15 I had to take my first walking break. It was a mental let down (in my mind I was hoping to go the whole way without walking...ha ha....looking back it just cracks me up...I was an idiot). I am pretty sure that is when I hit the wall....right around 15. Both my legs just were in agony and I could not get back to tempo to save my life. Most of my training runs, that is when I ran into trouble....good information for the future. I knew Beth and my parents were hoping to show up at the first view area (Ted's Place) which I thought was mile 16, but it ended up being a bit past that. By 16 I was hobbling pretty bad. I would try to jog for a little then walk a bit, the pain just kept getting worse and worse. I started to have doubt in myself and my ability to do this.

Seeing Beth and my folks helped give me a mental boost. Beth had made a Go Sean sign and it made me smile. I stopped for a second to eat another GU and to try to get some life back in my legs. I hobbled on....

If any of you know 287 you know about the big rock formation that looks kind of like the Rock of Gibraltar just outside of town. The hill that is in front was the next segment. It was really difficult to keep going. A woman that started behind me in the race gave me some encouragement and told me I was doing great. She also warned me that the next hill was even steeper.....she was right.

At this point I need to give a big thank you to all the volunteers and well-wishers. They helped so much. It didn't matter how pathetic I looked at each station, they always cheered and told me how well I was doing. It helped.

Once I hit mile 18, each mile felt like it was taking an hour. I knew by that point that I would have a hard time getting to the finish line under 6 hours. My feet started to hurt in a way that I can't even describe. It was like they were being squeezed in a vice grip with each step. I had been on them for over 4 hours and they did not like it. By the time we turned on the bike path I was really hurting. Beth and my folks showed up and were waving the sign....it pushed me....

The bike path was brutal. Cement is the worst surface to run on for me. So unforgiving...especially after the pounding the legs take going downhill for almost 17 miles. I tried to go off the path whenever possible. By mile 22 I had to stop and sit for a few minutes. I tried to rub the tightness out of my legs. It felt like my feet were getting crunched harder and harder....like me shoes were way to tight....but they weren't it was just the pain.

When I made it just to mile 23 my sister and her family showed up with my family and Beth. My nephew Ben ran down the road and jogged with me a little while my sister took a picture. It was a nice diversion. It was hard to listen to the Ipod, it all started to sound like mush. After that water station I started what would be the hardest stretch for me.

I kept trying to jog whenever possible, my legs had some life, but my feet were just horrid. The miles felt like they were now taking a couple of hours to complete....all the while knowing my window for finishing was shrinking with each painful step.

I originally thought at mile 24 that I would let it all out for last 2.2....it was all I could do to not fall over and keep putting one foot in front of the other. I guy on a horse almost ran into me and that really freaked me out. He was turning the horse onto the trail from the pasture and didn't see me. Next thing I knew I am face to face with a large animal. It was odd....

I just kept moving...ever so slowly....but constant.....soon I was at mile 25....I felt like I had nothing left to give....but I wanted this more than anything so I just kept willing the legs I had so badly abused to keep going. I had no sense of how far away the finish line was....I couldn't see anything....that path just kept going and going and going.

After what felt like an eternity walking through hell I could see a bunch of kids running....I guesses I as getting close. A volunteer egged me on...."You are almost there!" I kept going....little kids running past me. I looked up and saw the finish clock....I was still under 6 hours....I could hear people shouting for me and it give me a new life....I started to push....faster and faster....I then heard the announcer say my name and I could hear the crowd at the finish cheering. I threw every once of what was in my body into my legs....me left calf felt like it was ripping but I didn't care. The end of my journey was withing reach and I wanted to finish with pride. I am sure I was not going fast....but I am just as sure that I went as fast as my body could go at that point. I crossed the finish line and concluded my journey....I didn't beat many people....I was really slow...but I didn't care....this marathon was mine.

All in all, it feels amazing to have accomplished this. I was more than an hour later than the time I was shooting for. To be honest, I don't care. My chip time was 5 hours, 49 minutes, and 59 seconds.It is hard to believe it is over....

Because I am hoping to inspire and motivate others in my life, I am not going to describe what I feel like today :-p

Once my legs are better I will get back on the horse. I am hoping to get better over the course of the summer. I am not sure what the future will hold, but with any luck, it will hold more marathons.

Friday, May 1, 2009

The time is now

Again, I must apologize to the people that check here to see how things are going. I did get out a couple of days last week. Only did 2 the first day and then 3 the next. I wanted to do a nice long run on Saturday, but it just wasn't in the cards. I ended up doing 5 good miles....but no more. I went out for 3 miles Wednesday and Thursday this week. Thursday I pushed just to see what I had in the legs and it went well. I actually felt like I was running and not moving like some amorphous blob down the street. I think I might not do the 2 scheduled for tomorrow. It will be my first chance at a solid night's sleep in awhile.

I am meeting some other marathon runners from the Runnersworld forum tomorrow down in Ft. Collins. I am excited to meet some other people doing this marathon. I have become friends with a runner from Denver (hey Jon) who has helped me immensely and I am hopeful I will get to chat with him a little before the marathon, or maybe after.

I have been religiously checking the weather in the area. It looks like it will be very cool with some showers possible. I tend to like it cool when I run, but it looks like tween weather so I am not sure that shorts and tech shirt are the best clothing. I have all the songs in my Ipod and will spend a good chunk of time making the mix to end all mixes. Gotta find the best music for the moments when I need a little extra boost.

I am nervous for Sunday, I would be lying if I said otherwise. This will be a challenge unlike anything I have ever experienced. The last few months of training have finally lead to this climax. If I take stock of how I am physically....I right around 190 pounds...little heavier than I wanted....but I will take it. I have 3 blackened toenails and 1 missing toenail. The pain in my knee has gotten a little better due to the break from the intense running. I did miss some runs....but I feel like I am where I need to be physically. Mentally I will need to kick it in gear....I am racing against no one but myself. All the years of being the chubby guy, this is when I lose that mentality. I have accomplished more than I thought possible and am proud of that achievement. Only one more mountain to climb....or descend in this case. 26.2 miles.....

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for all of you that have been reading and offering encouragement. While running can be a solitary sport....you are all a part of team Sean and I could not have made it this far without you!

Sunday, April 19, 2009

What now?

Well I came down with a bad case of the flu. I have not run since April 8th. I have missed 5 runs total. This includes two long runs specifically the 20 mile run that I have as the most important of the training cycle. I am still pretty sick. I haven't been able to shake either the light headed feeling, or the dizziness when I walk. I am within two weeks of the end of the semester and missed an entire week of class. The pressure right now is pretty tough to deal with. I have two huge projects that are not close to complete. So the weight of it all is tougher and tougher to push through. I am going to attempt to do an easy 2-3 mile jog on Tuesday. It will let me know if there is any chance of me making the starting line, or if I need to find another marathon a few weeks later. Just thought I would give you all an update. Thanks for the support.

Sean

Saturday, March 28, 2009

19 Mile Saturday

So to be honest, I was as nervous about this run as I have been about any run before. When I attempted to do 18 miles two weeks ago, I missed the distance by a lot. My longest run up to today had been 16.5 miles. I knew that today was going to be a tell tale sign of whether or not I could do this.

I got up a little later than I had hoped. Another long week and school work had me going. I made myself get up at 8. I could not find my balaclava and that stressed me out something fierce. The windchill was around 10 degrees and I knew if I did not have it my skin would get baked. I finally gave up. I put on sunscreen and a hat and took my chances.

I decided to keep all of the run in the east side of Laramie this week. I have this nagging suspicion that the dirt roads were not helping the knee problem. So to make the distance I had to do two large loops, followed by a hook that would take me home.

The first mile is usually one of the hardest for me and today was no exception. I was cold immediately and the wind was blowing strong. After the first two miles the cold was no longer an issue. The wind treated me poorly the whole run...but I live in Laramie....so I deal.

I did have my first run-in with a dog. I was about three miles in when I looked over my shoulder and saw this dog running at me. I turned to brace myself but the dog just ran up to me...sniffed...and went on his way. He ran closed to me for a few blocks and then took off. Hope he found his way home.

After the first fool loop, I was feeling pretty good. The left knee was hurting...but it felt manageable. By the time I had hit Grand again (10-11 miles I think), I believed I would get all the way through. It was a good feeling. I needed to have a successful go of it. The second time up the hill on 30th I was really starting to drag. The pain was really starting to get to me. I just told myself to not look at the incline and to focus looking down. It helped.

The last two miles were incredibly rough. It seemed to get more and more difficult to get my legs up. Each curb felt like an obstacle. By the time I reached the destination street I was going pretty slow. I was still not walking though...and that was the goal.

So I made it! The time wasn't great...but ok. I am just happy I was able to get through it. 3 hours, 12 mins, 12 secs. I am running a half-marathon next weekend down in Littleton. I am excited to get out there with other people. Thanks for reading.

Route:
This
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=S+30th+St+to:S+26th+St+to:Russell+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:41.321009,-105.557499&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdrgW1-Q%3BFZZVdgIdGFK1-Q%3BFZpCdgIdFEe1-Q%3BFc09dgIdxcK0-Q%3BFUCXdgIduNC0-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=5&sz=14&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.331387,-105.575523&sspn=0.03287,0.076904&ie=UTF8&z=14

Then this:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=41.320881,-105.557585&daddr=S+30th+St+to:S+26th+St+to:Russell+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:N+30th+St&hl=en&geocode=%3BFZZVdgIdGFK1-Q%3BFZpCdgIdFEe1-Q%3BFc09dgIdxcK0-Q%3BFUCXdgIduNC0-Q%3BFTeCdgIdUFG1-Q&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=0&sz=14&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.320429,-105.561962&sspn=0.032875,0.076904&ie=UTF8&z=14

Finally this:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=N+30th+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:Willett+Dr+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:N+7th+St+to:41.315949,-105.58784+to:N+7th+St+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=FRCBdgIdUFG1-Q%3BFchkdgId3FG1-Q%3BFb5kdgIdRUO1-Q%3BFctWdgIdoA61-Q%3BFQ5ldgIdmtq0-Q%3B%3BFVh1dgIdT9y0-Q%3BFVp1dgId2P60-Q&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=5&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5,6&sll=41.315723,-105.578141&sspn=0.016439,0.038452&ie=UTF8&ll=41.316465,-105.569215&spn=0.016439,0.038452&z=15

Addendum:
So putting this in only came up with 18 miles...grrr! Made the map yesterday. I am beyond annoyed. I guess if you added in walking I did 18.6...but that is not the point. Not sure why I keep having these issues with googlemaps. Anyway....takes some of the good feeling away....I will get this figured out one way or another.

This week

So I have been a total tool about updating the blog. I am sorry. I have been swamped with work and school. I did make my total mileage last weekend of 13 miles. It was really slow after taking those three days off in Vegas. I did get through it and that is what is important.

My runs during the week were all on the treadmill. As much as I am not a fan of the treadmill, it really helped this week. Not only did I find myself pushing all three runs...I also put in some solid core work. It is just really hard for me to get into my run there. There are a lot of other distractions and noises that just make it more difficult to find a groove. My run Tuesday was 51 minutes even...Wednesday was 49:34....and Thursday I pushed hard and got 47:24. All of the runs were five miles. I might make myself go again next week depending on the weather. I enjoy the scenery while running outside....but the scenery in the gym isn't half bad either!

Even though it is the same day...I am going to make a new blog post for my 19 mile run from earlier today. Thanks for reading.

Friday, March 20, 2009

Synopsis...sigh

Ok. So I have been really lax in getting this thing updated....I apologize. Things have been hectic and then I was without internet for 4 days...I will be brief and promise to be better from here on out. The runs from last week Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday all went ok. Saturday was the worst I have done. I only made it about 12 miles and then my legs just slowly shut down. I managed to walk 4 miles more before they just stopped working. It was a pretty terrifying experience to be completely honest. It really made me doubt my ability to get through all this. I think it was just the accumulation of all the stress and mileage on my body. I am really hoping that it does not happen again.

This week I went to Las Vegas for a few days of R and R. I planned on running in Vegas. I thought it would be cool to run on the strip. That was until a cab driver told me that a runner had been killed a litte while before while running on the strip....so I gave up that idea. The hotel where I was wanted $15.00 to use he treadmill a day. And I just wasn't up for it. So I took the daily runs during the week off. I have a 13 mile longish run planned for tomorrow. I am nervous because it has been a week since I ran (really a week...that is hard to believe). So I am anxious to get out and see what these legs have in them....

Thursday, March 12, 2009

bah

Heading out for another run. I will update more later. I just need to get my two times down before today so I don't forget them. Tuesday 46 min 46 secs and Wednesday 1 hr 14 min and 21 secs.

Monday, March 9, 2009

Almost 17 miles (Googlemaps hath led me astray)

I was kind of dreading how I was going to feel Saturday morning. I wanted to be up early. I decided to experiment with gel before I ran. For the non-runners that check this, gel is this substance you take that is really high in calories and supposedly works into your body quickly. It is meant to be taken before you ran and during your run, depending on the time spent running. My stomach gets so sour while I run I decided to just try at the beginning to see how the stuff would sit. Its consistency is like the name says....gel-like. It is very sweet. I am sure I could not get it down without water. I will be the first to admit that I felt like I had more energy starting at about mile 2. I am not sure this translated into me moving any faster...but I liked having the extra oomph. I will try again this week and try halfway through to see what that does for me. On to the run itself....

I had made my map earlier in the week so I thought I was good to go for 17. The first 9-10 went ok. It was cold but that is how I like to run. When my muscles stay cool it helps with the pain. The knee started acting up around mile 8 but it was not too bad. My big problem with this run is that I was supposed to go up one street....go across another...and then back down in essence just bumping up the mileage....the problem was that I never saw the road that dissected the two. I just kept going and then the road I was on turned into a new road...and I knew I wasn't right. I took the last turn that I saw and ended up on this dirt road that felt like it was going on for forever. I could not get any sense of where I was as compared to some of the landmarks (dorms, art museum) that would have helped me. I finally got desperate and just took this right and it ended up taking me back into town on 30th(which is where I wanted to be...but not that way). The dirt road killed my knees and my ankles and the frustration took away the positive feeling I usually have when I run. To get over to the street I cut through this neighborhood and ran up the steepest hill I have ever seen. It was truly humbling. I found my way back onto my path and got home. I did my little walk around the block and the pain in the knees(specifically the left) really kicked in. I did a bit more stretching than usual...but it did not seem to help.

I did get a little ego boost when I came back in and my roommate (who was awake when I left and still awake when I got home) said: "Where you running that whole time?" Kind of made it all feel worth it.

Looking back, I did not miss the route by that much...but once you get to mile 12-13 the ability to reason isn't as strong as it is pre-run. But I am still proud of making it as far as I did. This next week is the longest total mileage of the whole schedule (5 Tuesday, 8 Wednesday, 5 Thursday, 18 Saturday) so I am excited to get down to it. If I can make it through this week I will really feel like I got this. On a side note...yay Daylight Savings!

Route I wanted to take:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St.+Laramie,+WY&daddr=S+30th+St+to:Spring+Creek+Dr+to:Russell+St+to:Ord+St+to:N+3rd+St%2FBusiness+I+80%2FUS-287%2FUS-30+to:Snowy+Range+Rd%2FWY-230+to:Snowy+Range+Rd%2FWY-130+to:Reynolds+St+to:Unknown+road+to:Ve+Trail+to:N+15th+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:Ve+Trail+to:Inca+Dr+to:Inca+Dr+to:Grays+Gable+Rd+to:41.317657,-105.579128&geocode=%3BFaFWdgIdGFK1-Q%3BFa87dgIdwwi1-Q%3BFbo9dgIdvMO0-Q%3BFYJBdgIdHMK0-Q%3BFfppdgIdkMa0-Q%3BFaZWdgIdQ4m0-Q%3BFfpudgIdKjK0-Q%3BFVqTdgIdmOm0-Q%3BFfy3dgId4uy0-Q%3BFUqzdgIdNge1-Q%3BFaCRdgIdjAa1-Q%3BFZaRdgIdmwq1-Q%3BFaCRdgIdMBK1-Q%3BFbuRdgIdVk-1-Q%3BFU6sdgIdTF21-Q%3BFdaNdgId8HS1-Q%3BFSSBdgId8HS1-Q%3BFRWBdgIdZ1q1-Q%3B&hl=en&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=19&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18&sll=41.321009,-105.564365&sspn=0.016437,0.038452&ie=UTF8&ll=41.332805,-105.557928&spn=0.016435,0.038452&z=15

Route I actually took (more or less...stupid Googlemaps):
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:S+26th+St+to:Russell+St+to:N+3rd+St%2FBusiness+I+80%2FUS-287%2FUS-30+to:Snowy+Range+Rd%2FWY-130+to:Reynolds+St+to:Unknown+road+to:Reynolds+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:N+14th+St+to:N+14th+St+to:E+Gibbon+St+to:Unknown+road+to:41.317754,-105.579042&geocode=Fap4dgIdvwW1-Q%3BFZ16dgIdbFG1-Q%3BFZpCdgIdFEe1-Q%3BFZg9dgIdvcW0-Q%3BFfppdgIdkMa0-Q%3BFTt2dgId1CS0-Q%3BFVmTdgIduum0-Q%3BFcC7dgId1061-Q%3BFQORdgIdvV61-Q%3BFfaQdgIdiXG1-Q%3BFVx3dgIdegC1-Q%3BFVt3dgIdeQC1-Q%3BFXN1dgIdMf20-Q%3BFaRzdgIdRP20-Q%3B&hl=en&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=14&sz=16&via=1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13&sll=41.318753,-105.572884&sspn=0.008219,0.019226&ie=UTF8&ll=41.327713,-105.554581&spn=0.032872,0.076904&z=14

Thursday, March 5, 2009

Soooooo tired

One of the main reasons that I got into running, were these spells that I would have. It feels like I am going to just fall asleep at anytime. Hard to focus and concentrate on things and then I have a hard time actually sleeping. Makes is really hard to get anything done. I absolutely hate it. Since I started really running last June it really has not happened....until yesterday. It has continued through today and it is really starting to wear on me. I am worn down anyway...adding this on top really has made this week a bummer.

I went to the gym last night to get my 8 mile run in....man I hate the gym. So many distractions and other people to worry about. I am constantly worried about being over the 30 minute "time limit". But it had to be done. Daylight saving is this weekend....so I am hoping this will be the last time I need to go on Wednesday. But anyway.... I really did not focus enough on how far 8 miles would be. It is strange...but I don't really think about mileage that is under 10 anymore. I need to really respect every distance....the agony of my time on he treadmill last night definitely taught me a lesson. I started out a tiny bit faster than my pace outside....but it really took it out of me quickly. I had to keep moving the speed up and down just to get through it. I really hated having to do it. My the time I limped to the end my time was 79 minutes and 39 seconds...and it made me feel even worse than I did before....

Today I was absolutely dreading my 4 mile run. I felt the same way I did yesterday. It has been really hard to get through the day. The last thing I wanted to do was get out in the now frigid wind and do 4 miles. I am proud that I actually did it. My pace was not great and I was pretty miserable the whole time...but I did do it. My time was 37 minutes even. Not horrid....but I am not feeling good....getting ready for Saturdays run should be an adventure....

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

4 miles back on track

So the knee pain has been concerning me. It was pretty bad Sunday and Monday. Today it felt quite a bit better and I only really noticed it when I was going down stairs. The weather has been warm but very windy. I was able to get out in shorts for the first time and that is really exciting. I saw a few people out running and so that always helps push. There was a guy about 1/3 of a mile ahead of me and wanted to try to pace him a little to see if my pace was similar when I ran to his. At the top of the 1st mile I was a couple of blocks behind him. By the 22nd St. turn I was only a block away...but our paths changed. The wind was pretty solid the whole run. I think the gusts were in the mid twenties and I find that when I run into the wind I push harder because I feel like I am going a lot slower. This always seems to help me get decent times when I am running. I also passed what I imagine was a group of girls from the track team. There were like 10 of them. They didn't really seem to want to acknowledge me so I just kept on my way. By mile three I had found the guy that I was behind....I was about two blocks away....but I also ran 4 more blocks up and down so my pace is probably similar. I pushed hard the last 5 minutes and was really pleased with my time of 35 minutes and 42 seconds. It is better than a 9 min mile so maybe I am getting back on track. The knee has not been giving me problems and I am happy about that. Have 8 miles tomorrow....should be good times....

Saturday, February 28, 2009

11 miles and halfway there.

So I had a nice birthday but a very late night. By the time I got to bed it was around 1:30. I slept pretty good until early morning...when kitty started being kitty. It makes me feel a little better because she seems to be acting normal but it did not help my state of mind. I dragged myself up at 8 and piddled around until I finally got out the door a little after 9. It was chilly, but not nearly as cold as yesterday. That pleased me immensely. I was able to run without my balaclava and it feels like Spring is almost in the air. Of course in Wyoming that doesn't really mean anything....but it would be nice to not have to layer up like a Sherpa to go out an run. Anyway...



I would be lying if I said my left knee didn't hurt. The good news is that the pain was more tolerable than the last few runs I had. I hope that is a good sign. The right one started hurting about midway through this run, but it was minimal and barely hurts now.



The weather really could not have been much better for me...I do like to be cool when I run and the sun was out and there was very little wind. It took me awhile to find any real type of groove and I can really tell that my pace is not what it was 4 weeks ago. The run up the bridge that goes into west Laramie was really nice today. If any of you are in this area, I highly suggest jogging up it...at least once. The view of the mountains is truly something. It definitely gets the hammies and the calves but it is still nice.



I was hoping to see the gentlemen out with his dog out on Welsh St. but no such luck today. The dirt roads are so grated with the washboard that it doesn't feel great to be on it...but for some reason there is something that feels natural about running on it. The highlight of my time on the dirt road was a herd of deer (I believe...could have been Elk...but I am just not sure...not use to seeing them in that big of numbers) I was able to watch them jump over two sets of fences and across the dirt road in front of me. It was very inspiring.



The last two miles I wanted to get my pace up, so I kicked it up a couple of notches the rest of the way home. I still felt like I had something in the tank...I just need to get the groove back earlier in the run to get my time back to where they should be. I am hoping that the decline of the Colorado will bode well for my time....if not my quads! My time today was 1 hr. 46 min and 32 secs....definitely subpar....but I will still take it.



My route:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=S+30th+St+to:Welsh+Ln+to:Reynolds+St+to:41.318882,-105.578699+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdhAW1-Q%3BFahXdgIdGFK1-Q%3BFQiHdgId6CW0-Q%3BFa6SdgIdrvO0-Q%3B%3BFWR1dgIdMf60-Q&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=4&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.325393,-105.576982&sspn=0.016436,0.038452&ie=UTF8&ll=41.323427,-105.588741&spn=0.065747,0.153809&z=13

Thursday, February 26, 2009

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday...all mileage made.

I am sorry for anyone that might check this with any regularity. With the issues I have been having with cat ad the amount of school work I have had this week, I have not had much down time to catch up. I did reach all of the target mileage. Tuesday's 4 miler was hard. The pain I have in my left knee seems like it is here to stay...yay! My stopwatch stopped working before I recorded the time, but I seem to remember being around a 9 min and 34 sec mile. Which is not great...but ok. I did Wednesday night at the gym on the treadmill. I did not feel like I had any energy and that worries me a little. I ended up doing the 7 miles in 1 hr 6 min and 5 secs. I really had a difficult time maintaining any type of focus. The pain in the knee has been getting a little harder to ignore. I made sure to do more stretching when I was done. The run this morning was again all about the knee. It hurt the entire time. I am hoping these next two days off will help for Saturday's shorter long run of 11 miles. As for the time this morning, I don't have my time handy but believe it was around 38 minutes and 30 seconds. I will check and update tonight when I get home. Tomorrow is my birthday...kind of wish I was running....but I will enjoy the day off regardless. Thanks for reading.

Monday, February 23, 2009

15 miles that wasn't....

So this week has been a real roller-coaster of emotion. My cat has been really sick. She has been the only real constant in my life the past 12 years so it has been pretty hard to deal with. I am not sure she is going to be ok and it is rough. So I apologize if anyone had been checking to see if I made 15 miles this week. I did...sort of. More on that in a bit.

I went out a little after 9 on Saturday. I set my alarm but must have done so incorrectly. I really like to be on the road my 8 at the latest. Just feels like I lose quite a bit of my day if I get out too late. I read that many long distance runners are out by like 4:45 or 5. Someday that may be the way to go...but quite frankly, I need it to warm up and get lighter so I can see.

My hamstrings had been really tight sense Wednesday's 7 miles run on the treadmill. They were pretty tight for about the first 4-5 miles of the run, then kind of loosened up a bit. I had some heavy food the night before and it took its toll on me. I actually had to stop at a gas station and use the restroom. I think that kind of zonked me. I will say though that I was able to get back into a groove, albeit a little slower. That gives me hope...if not speed. I need to figure out something with the chaffing. I won't go into details...but I have tried the Vaseline type things and I still get some horrible places. Something needs to change....

The best part of my run was seeing another runner out on the outskirts of town. He was probably in his mid 50's and out with his dog. He gave me a friendly smile and a wave....asked how I was doing and continued on his way. Just made me feel good inside.

The last 5 miles were pretty hard for me. A had a lot of pain in quite a few areas. I kept chugging though and got through my route. I made it is around 2 hours 32 min and 17 secs...give or take. Horrible time. The worst part is that when I went to make the route map it comes up as only 14.7 miles...what the heck? I followed the same route last week and then added the rest of my old route that is 2 miles and should have hit 15 on the nose. It is frustrating in a way that I can't really explain...to think you achieved your goal and then didn't....really bums me out. Hope this week is better. Thanks for reading.

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=E+Harney+St+to:Spring+Creek+Dr+to:Russell+St+to:Snowy+Range+Rd%2FWY-130+to:Reynolds+St+to:41.320784,-105.557585&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdwAa1-Q%3BFRKBdgIdWk-1-Q%3BFVc8dgIdzRi1-Q%3BFeA9dgIdzMG0-Q%3BFUx1dgIdpSa0-Q%3BFZaRdgIdPgm1-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=6&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5&sll=41.321009,-105.564494&sspn=0.013827,0.026779&ie=UTF8&ll=41.316271,-105.581102&spn=0.013828,0.026779&z=15

And then....
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Gibbon+St&daddr=N+13th+St+to:N+15th+St+to:Univertsity+of+Wyoming+to:Univertsity+of+Wyoming+to:E+Harney+St&hl=en&geocode=FXR1dgIdIP20-Q%3BFWZsdgIdKvq0-Q%3BFe5kdgIdHAW1-Q%3BFW9mdgIdS0e1-Q%3BFYJodgId5k-1-Q%3BFRCBdgIdUFG1-Q&mra=cc&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.3174,-105.566983&sspn=0.013828,0.026779&ie=UTF8&z=15

Friday, February 20, 2009

4 miles yesterday

So I forgot to get my entry in for yesterday. I didn't fall asleep until a little after 3:00 Thurday morning...so I did not get my run done in the morning. I did get to it in the afternoon. I kept a strong pace the whole run. The first mile up hill was 9 min 40 secs and for the whole route I hit 35 min and 32 secs so I am pleased. My hammies are really giving me grief today and that concerns me for my long 15 miler tomorrow. Just have to wait it out and play it by ear.

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

7 miles on the mill

Tuesday nights just don't like me....that is all there is to it. I could not sleep to save my life again. I just have had so much work to do in classes that I can't shut my brain down when it is time to sleep. I thought I had been doing well with getting up at 7:30, but when I had to be up at 6:15 my brain just stuck it to me. Anyway...I did not get up and run this morning. Wednesday is my worst day by far. I have to do the longest of the weekday runs and I have three classes and then I go straight to work. So I think it was a moral victory that I made my self go run after work for my 7 miles. For the record...I will be celebrating Daylight Savings like no other. It just gets dark too early for me to get in my run.

When I got to the gym all the treadmills were full. I had to wait awhile...and to be honest...I think I might have sniped it from someone else waiting...but I didn't see her...anyway....I still feel bad if I did. My goal was an ambitious 7 mile hour. I needed to walk a bit and did not get the mill up to 7 until 9 minutes in. That being said...I did finish the seven miles at 1 hr and 4 minutes and 30 secs during my cool down....I think if I had started out walking and then stopped and reset I would have easily hit the 7 mile in an hour...I just had to push it a bit to make up for the walking. So I was fairly pleased.

Hope I can sleep tonight...but I have been working on programming for a couple of hours so I am not optimistic. Thanks for reading!

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

4 mile Tuesday

Well my knee pain really went down over yesterday. That made me really happy. I keep worrying about all these injuries other people tend to get when continually beating their bodies up and so I am concerned about it happening to me. I have been really lucky so far...I just hope it continues. The weather was cold, but not too bad. The wind was supposed to be blowing really hard but it also was bad at all. I had downloaded some more tunes from my other computer and so I tried to use that to push me a little bit. The first mile I felt was a decent pace, but I did not look down at the mile mark. My end time tells me I was probably a bit slower to start than normal...because I really pushed pretty hard the last two miles. I had to run in the street a couple of times to avoid walkers and that always make me nervous. One...I really don't want to get plucked off by a car and two....I don't like coming up on people and scaring them. I have tried announcing my presence, but no one ever seems to notice so I feel dumb for saying anything. It was a nice run even though I had a lot to do before class. My time was 36 min 18 secs. I had to pause a few times for turning cars and crosswalks....but it is ok. When I don't hit that 9 min mile I get annoyed and use that to push harder the next run. Tomorrow morning will be coming really early...seven miles....

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:Univertsity+of+Wyoming+to:N+22nd+St+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:N+11th+St+to:E+Flint+St+to:41.317754,-105.579214&hl=en&geocode=Fe54dgIdVwG1-Q%3BFZN2dgIdglG1-Q%3BFW9qdgId30-1-Q%3BFepadgIdnDW1-Q%3BFT5YdgIdZvW0-Q%3BFYlsdgId_u-0-Q%3BFRJydgIdtve0-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=7&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5,6&sll=41.315304,-105.576725&sspn=0.013828,0.026779&ie=UTF8&z=15

Saturday, February 14, 2009

14 miles...or what I call the Tour de Laramie

I am not going to lie...I was really scared about the 14 mile run today. The 12 mile run/walk that I dragged myself through a couple of weeks ago shaked my nerve and to a small extent my resolve. I charted out my course last night and to look at it on a map is a little overwhelming.

I pushed myself out of bed at 7:30 this morning. The windchill was -1 and it was overcast. I started out pretty slow and told myself I just wanted to get through it...without walking if possible. The route took me way out of my normal zone and to be honest, I really liked it. I tried more street running to help save my shins and had some mixed results. In this run there were my two large hills....but then add in three bridges and my legs really had a hard time of it. The bridge that goes over Curtis in Laramie is really something once you reach the top. You can see all of Laramie really well. It was a great experience. My excursion through West Laramie was pretty uneventful. All in all it went ok. My time (which I will post for sure tomorrow) was better than a 10 minute mile....but well off the pace of 9:00 min which is always my hope. All in all I am just pretty proud for pushing all the way through without walking. I beat my longest distance by two miles. My legs are killing me but that just goes with the territory. Time was 2 hrs 18 min 48 secs.

My route:
1st Leg
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=41.318431,-105.634575&daddr=S+3rd+St%2FUS-287+to:Spring+Creek+Dr+to:Spring+Creek+Dr+to:N+30th+St+to:E+Harney+St&hl=en&geocode=%3BFZ1XdgIdoMS0-Q%3BFTQxdgIdu8a0-Q%3BFYQ7dgIdNga1-Q%3BFX6AdgIdUFG1-Q%3BFap4dgId7Ae1-Q&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=0&sz=13&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.323717,-105.617065&sspn=0.055305,0.107117&ie=UTF8&ll=41.325779,-105.611572&spn=0.055303,0.107117&z=13

2nd Leg
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Snowy+Range+Rd%2FWY-130&daddr=W+Curtis+St%2FStockyards+Rd+to:41.321364,-105.5581+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=Fax2dgId8iO0-Q%3BFX2cdgId2Eu0-Q%3B%3BFWx1dgIdp_20-Q&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=2&sz=15&via=1,2&sll=41.322428,-105.563335&sspn=0.013827,0.026779&ie=UTF8&ll=41.322814,-105.629683&spn=0.013826,0.026779&z=15

Thursday, February 12, 2009

4 miles and my first little injury

So I got up a little later than I had planned. I did get out the door with the right amount of clothing for the first time in awhile...so that is good. My left foot was hurting on the walk over but only stayed for about a mile and a half. The running went ok. I felt pretty tired the whole time....but the pace was fairly decent. When I ended, I did a short walk around the apartment, but in hindsight wished I walked quite a bit farther. I stretched against the building like I always do and then headed in side. I did 100 sit-ups and 80 crunches and that felt pretty good. I did 16 push-ups and that didn't feel so good (I have very little upper body strength...it is something I am trying to rectify....but the truth is I don't have a lot). I took a short bath to try to loosen up a little bit and stretched in the tub. After my shower I went to take a step out of the tub and tweaked my right calf pretty good. The pain was instant and pretty intense. I tried to stretch and rub the area but it stayed pretty tight. I walked a little bit and that seemed to loosen it up a tiny bit. The rest of the day it has been tender but manageable. I have tweaked it like this in the past and am hopeful it won't be too tough. I will probably put some Icy-Hot tonight and hope that helps as well. I am not going to give up on my long run this weekend, but I might....might push it back until Sunday. We will see. My time for this run was 36 min and 35 secs.

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:Univertsity+of+Wyoming+to:N+22nd+St+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:N+11th+St+to:E+Flint+St+to:41.317754,-105.579214&hl=en&geocode=Fe54dgIdVwG1-Q%3BFZN2dgIdglG1-Q%3BFW9qdgId30-1-Q%3BFepadgIdnDW1-Q%3BFT5YdgIdZvW0-Q%3BFYlsdgId_u-0-Q%3BFRJydgIdtve0-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=7&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5,6&sll=41.315304,-105.576725&sspn=0.013828,0.026779&ie=UTF8&z=15

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

7 mile Wednesday

Could not fall asleep last night. Ended up skipping my first class to get my run in. I hate doing that....but all he does is read from the Power Point when we review....so I will review the Power Point on my own. The run itself did not go very well. I feel like I have to get used to stopping and starting. I think it is something I need to force myself to do. When I get in my rhythm I can just keep going and going ....but if something small stops me, it is very difficult to find that rhythm. By office is about halfway through my 7 mile run so I stopped in to grab a fast drink of water (yes I have two flasks on my belt but I needed a reason in my head). I only stayed about 4 or 5 minutes, but that was all it took to get all flustered. About a half-mile down the road, my cell phone came out of its holder in my pants and slid down my leg....only God knows what anyone would have thought if they had seem me adjusting it in public. It came out two more times during the run, which rarely ever happens. Think some of it is in my head....but I need to check my pants when I have a minute to make sure the holder is still secure.

It was very very cold and windy this morning. It said the windchill was 6 but it felt colder when I was running into the wind. During all my frustrations I must have hit a button on my stopwatch, because when I finally got home it said 50 minutes as the time...and I know that can't be right. It had to be closer to 1 hr 8 min or 1 hr 12 min. Oh well. Got the run in and made it to my next class (barely) on time.

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+22nd+St+to:Reynolds+St+to:N+7th+St+to:S+4th+St+to:N+22nd+St+to:41.314853,-105.558186+to:N+30th+St+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=FfJ4dgIdDwG1-Q%3BFQ2OdgId_Su1-Q%3BFd6UdgIduN-0-Q%3BFemKdgIdrt60-Q%3BFXFhdgIdzcq0-Q%3BFedjdgIdlTa1-Q%3B%3BFRCBdgIdUFG1-Q%3BFX91dgIdcPy0-Q&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=6&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5,6,7&sll=41.31408,-105.554323&sspn=0.016439,0.038452&ie=UTF8&z=15

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Tuesday Feb. 10th First 4 miler

So I had my first 4 mile run of the next step of my training schedule. It was hard to get up. Had a lot to do yesterday and it feels like I can't get caught up with coursework. That being said I did get up around 8. The first mile of the run was harder than usual. I found myself straining to keep up my pace. It was quite a bit colder than I thought it was going to be by just looking outside. It took a little while longer to warm up than usual...but it still happened. I am really trying to not eat any fast food weekdays to see how that helps, if at all. I did well yesterday and am hoping it might help me drop even more weight at a little bit faster rate.

I am not really used to running while there are lots of students walking around and driving in the morning. I didn't really like it. For one....for some reason stop signs are optional and two they tend to not pay attention to their surroundings while they walk. I always move as far as I can even to the grass or street in order to not make people change their stride....but come on...pay a little attention. It is just courtesy. I will stop whining now.

The last .7 miles was pretty hard for me. I just feel really tired. I think it is the accumulation of miles on my body along with my poor sleeping patterns. But for he 4.2 miles I ran my time was 37 min and 30 secs. That gives me a 8 min 55 sec pace...which is slightly better than my daily goal. So yay for today! Thank you for reading and all your support.

My route:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:Univertsity+of+Wyoming+to:N+22nd+St+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:N+11th+St+to:E+Flint+St+to:41.317754,-105.579214&hl=en&geocode=Fe54dgIdVwG1-Q%3BFZN2dgIdglG1-Q%3BFW9qdgId30-1-Q%3BFepadgIdnDW1-Q%3BFT5YdgIdZvW0-Q%3BFYlsdgId_u-0-Q%3BFRJydgIdtve0-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=7&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5,6&sll=41.315304,-105.576725&sspn=0.013828,0.026779&ie=UTF8&z=15

Saturday, February 7, 2009

9 mile Saturday

So I had a terrible night of sleep. It took almost 4 hours to fall asleep. I had some caffeine later in the evening and my brain let me know. Kept having marathon thoughts...mainly good....but it still wouldn't let me sleep. I finally forced myself up at 9:00 which kind of made me feel lazy. I was out ready to run around 9:30. The first mile was very difficult again and it kind of makes me think that I am still a little low in the blood. Up until about mile 3 I was wondering if I was going to make it. I finally found my rhythm and things although difficult started to fall into place. I saw a only one person out running...and that was odd. I had some issues with the stopwatch. I had never had an issue with hitting the "split" button on my watch....but I did. So I have no real clue how long the lights were so I am guessing very conservatively on my time....just so I don't seem a little fishy with the timing. So I will say according to the time that I did the run in 1 hr 28 min and 47 secs. Not a great time...but deep down I know I was quite a bit better than that so I will accept it and move on.

I have reached the 1/3 mark in my training. It has been getting harder to get out. I can tell my body doesn't like being forced to keep to a routine quite like this. That being said....I am really glad that I am doing this. I stepped on the scale after my run and I broke 190 lbs. So for me that is another record and it feels good.

My route:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:N+22nd+St+to:S+3rd+St%2FBusiness+I+80%2FUS-287%2FUS-30+to:Reynolds+St+to:41.320752,-105.557714&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdKga1-Q%3BFUFndgIdxVG1-Q%3BFZNXdgIdNzW1-Q%3BFdVgdgIdn8W0-Q%3BFT-SdgIdrvu0-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=5&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.323749,-105.566726&sspn=0.016437,0.038452&ie=UTF8&z=15

Then a little of this:

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=N+30th+St&daddr=Univertsity+of+Wyoming+to:Univertsity+of+Wyoming+to:E+Lewis+St+to:41.317754,-105.579128&hl=en&geocode=Fe-AdgIdUFG1-Q%3BFYBmdgIdXE-1-Q%3BFW9mdgIdSke1-Q%3BFZRqdgIdVvq0-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=4&sz=15&via=1,2,3&sll=41.315208,-105.567198&sspn=0.016439,0.038452&ie=UTF8&z=15

Take that treadmill

So I did not have time to get out and run Friday morning. I am so behind in my classes and it seems I get farther behind the harder I work. So after my classes and work I went back to the gym to put in my time on the treadmill. The run on Thursday did not do as well as I had hoped so I wanted my time on "the mill" to count. I ended up walking the first 5 minutes then ran at a 10 min mile clip for 5 min. After that I kicked it in gear. I did an 8 min 34 sec mile for two miles and then kicked it up twice and ended my run with a 7 min 30 min mile for 5 mins. I did 3.04 miles in 25 minutes. That is decent time for me. I ended up doing 4 miles overall. I was pretty happy. I knew this morning was going to be rough for my 9 mile long run but last night I did feel good about it.

Thursday, February 5, 2009

6 miles in the sun

So I came straight home after class and got dressed and went out. I am proud that I did not waste time and got right out before my body talked me out of it. The weather was warm and I wore shorts for the first time outside since fall. It was a nice feeling. I did wear a couple of layers up top and that was overkill. I just figured with the wind that I might get a little chilly. I was incorrect.

As you have probably guessed I am not used to running mid-afternoon. I was really expecting to see more people out running. I did see a group of 5 girls that may have been a part of some team. But I am not sure. The sun was nice and warm....but there was water and ice still everywhere. I stepped in quite a few puddles along the way, and that is something I did not enjoy.

The run itself was ok. To be honest, I still think I am feeling the effects of the blood donation last week. I am just not used to feeling weak when I run. I did manage to make it the whole way without walking....so I will take that and be happy with it. My time was not great....57 mins and 45 secs, but I got the distance in.

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:N+22nd+St+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:41.326682,-105.591145+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdgAa1-Q%3BFVtmdgIdylG1-Q%3BFRNZdgIdZTW1-Q%3BFRtbdgIdg8a0-Q%3B%3BFXR1dgIdHf20-Q&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=4&sz=13&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.309019,-105.56385&sspn=0.065762,0.153809&ie=UTF8&ll=41.319946,-105.576382&spn=0.016438,0.038452&z=15

Down....but never out.

So I came down with some eye thing that made it so I couldn't wear my contacts for a few days. Something you probably don't care about....but it is important with regards to running. My eye-glass prescription is old and I have very little depth perception when I wear them. I noticed this Tuesday as I attempted to walk to class and almost fell down three times. The week has been horrible with coursework and exams and I did not get out Tuesday for the three miles owed. I drove around Tuesday seeing all this people out running and it really made me feel guilty....go to a confession and repent guilty. They were out there doing it, and I was acting like a weenie. I told myself I was going to get in the distance on my schedule no matter what.

I was finally able to put in my contacts yesterday afternoon and I decided to go up to the campus gym and put in my 3 miles on the dreadmill. The place was packed. I was completely shocked that at 7:10 on a Wednesday the place was full. I was able to get on a machine and got a false sense of confidence : "I run outside all the time...this will be easy. I will do hills and totally own them." So I decided to walk into a jog into my running pace. This went well for the first 15 minutes, then the dinner I so foolishly ate from Taco Johns let me know that I was an idiot. The last 15 minutes were very difficult and I have to make some speed concessions....but I got through it. And it felt great. I had a lot of homework but it all seems a little better after a run.

I am going to go out for 6 miles after class today. The weather is nice and I am stoked. I won't get a rest day before my long run....but it is ok....I am still running....

Sunday, February 1, 2009

12 worst miles of my life

So giving blood is a good thing to do. Many people need to have blood transfusions so I should do my part to help. That being said, after yesterday's attempt at 12 miles, I can tell you it was one of the dumbest things I could have done. I was hurting less than a mile into the distance. I had no energy and just pushing seemed to hurt tremendously. After about 3 miles I knew it was going to be a long morning. At about mile 5 I just decided to do whatever I had to do to get the distance in....walk, run, jog, whimper like a baby. I can honestly say I have no known pain that just would not seem to quit. I would walk for a block or two then try to run a little more, my body just could not keep it going. I had to walk up the entire hill halfway through that always pumps me up. Few times I thought I might just collapse. I felt so ashamed of myself whenever I was walking while someone else ran past me. I had to walk in large chunks going down Grand, which is Laramie's main throughfare. By the time I got down it had taken me well over 2 and a half hours.....but I did finish the distance. In the end that is what is important....but it definitely took it's toll on my body and my mind.

Thursday, January 29, 2009

3 miles for Thursday

To compare my legs to rubber this morning would not be fair to rubber. I think taffy would be a closer comparison. Little stiff at the start and the more they work the less strong they became. And just like taffy my legs are delicious (just kidding....maybe). The run last night really took the life out of my legs. They just got used to always getting that extra rest in between runs. After this marathon I might experiment with breaking some of my runs up between morning and night. Especially during the summer, when getting out is easier and the amount of clothing I need to wear is minimal. The run was difficult I have to admit. Thought I might have to walk a couple of times, but just gritted it out. The weather was definitely cold, but I enjoyed it. The crisp air and the sound of the hard snow crunching off my feet was really nice. I might experiment with not using the Ipod all the time, especially on the short runs. It could be another way to clear my mind. My time was nothing special, but considering the struggle it was to get through it, and all the ice and snow, I will take it. I am donating blood on Friday so I am a little concerned about the 12 mile run on Saturday, hope it goes well.

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:E+Willett+Dr+to:41.317238,-105.579171&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdHwa1-Q%3BFelqdgIdt1G1-Q%3BFShkdgIdJAW1-Q%3B&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=3&sz=15&via=1,2&sll=41.317464,-105.564494&sspn=0.016342,0.038452&ie=UTF8&z=15

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

6 miles and life blows at the moment.

So I am under the impression that I want graduate with a degree in computer science. With each day in my Computer Science II class I doubt my ability to achieve this goal. Seems no matter how hard I work I can't get caught up....let alone ahead. I have been working on last week's assignment for a week and a half. It is almost one full week late and I have another due on Friday that I am a little confused about, but that is about par for the course. I spent two hours working on that same assignment last night. Then was so worked up about not being any closer to having it done...I got up at 11:00 pm and worked for over another two hours and was no closer. When I finally went to bed it took well over an hour to fall asleep. I tried to get up at 6:15 to get my run in....but my body just would not do it. So I slept in and past my scheduled run time. I decided to not go into work so I could get assistance with this assignment from the GA. I also have a Spanish Exam tomorrow and 20 workbook pages due so I am really behind the 8 ball. I got that last project completed and all the pages in the workbook done except for the listening. So to give myself a break I decided I would do my run in the late afternoon close to 5. Big mistake.

In general I don't like running when it is dark. My night vision leaves a little something to be desired and Laramie drivers aren't the most attentive in broad daylight let alone dusk/dark. I told myself I was not going to focus on time but rather the run. I felt exhausted and nauseous before I even started. The run itself was not too bad. After the first couple of miles the upset stomach went away and I was able to clear my mind (although by mile 5 my stomach cramps were almost unbearable). I don't like not being able to see drivers clearly. Even if they make eye contact it is hard to see their intentions. Add to this the copious amounts of snow and the fact that for some reason...landlords that own apartments on Reynolds feel no moral or legal obligation to clear their sidewalks made the last 2 miles very difficult to wade through. I tried to start and stop the timer at lights but I could not tell if it was going or not so I ended up way off what I thought. I am guessing it took around an hour....so I will take it considering how crappy the rest of the day turned out. May have to take this class again...but I will be damned if I am not going to keep to my training schedule.

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:N+22nd+St+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:41.326682,-105.591145+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdgAa1-Q%3BFVtmdgIdylG1-Q%3BFRNZdgIdZTW1-Q%3BFRtbdgIdg8a0-Q%3B%3BFXR1dgIdHf20-Q&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=4&sz=13&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.309019,-105.56385&sspn=0.065762,0.153809&ie=UTF8&ll=41.319946,-105.576382&spn=0.016438,0.038452&z=15

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

-21 Degree Wind Chill and Tuesday 3 miler.

COLD! That is really the only way to describe the weather in Laramie and more specifically during my run around 9 this morning. I wore a couple of pairs of Mizuno cold weather pants and it surely helped. (I almost always wear my black pair in the cold...I highly recommend a pair for cold weather running). I also double up on gloves and socks. I decided to use my old running shoes because I didn't know how much snow would be plowed. Seemed like there was like 6 or 7 inches but I am not really sure. The University sidewalks were all fairly maintained and for that I was grateful. It was definitely not about the time today, but rather getting the distance put on my body. My time with stops was around 27 min and 45 secs so I am not going to get any records...although when I think back, it matched the time of my first 5K in October. I think I am just a tad short of 3.1 but close. We are under a blizzard warning for tonight and early morning. I am sure 6 miles....hope it is do-able tomorrow.

Saturday, January 24, 2009

11 mile Saturday (80 miles in 4 weeks)

I really need to eat healthier the night before a long run. Had some McDonald's last night and it did not sit well in my stomach while I ran. So just a weird to the wise (wiser than me anyway) don't eat it! The weather was actually pretty nice. I was hoping for some light peaceful snowfall while I ran, but it wasn't in the cards. There were clouds, but also quite a bit of sunshine(in Laramie....go figure). Think the windchill was in the teens at the start. I felt some odd pain within my inner thigh while I was walking, just stiffness I guess. I went away fairly quickly.

I tried to tell myself at the beginning that I need to not be so concerned with time. The key is to get through these longer runs not blow the doors of them. By about a mile and a half in I was trying to go hard, I need to be better about it.

The run overall went pretty well. By about mile 6 I was pretty beat but kept going. Running up "the hill" seemed to go slow but I did indeed make it to the top. I had another idea about timing with the traffic lights and decided to just stop and start the stopwatch every time I hit a red light. This worked well with the timing...but really hurt me trying to get into a running groove. Almost got tagged by an idiot looking to turn right on red without checking to his left of off 3rd. Really made me mad. I pay attention to crosswalk/lights for a reason wish cars would do the same.

Around mile 8 started to have some chaffing (sexy I know) and that is something that is unacceptable. I hadn't been having this problem before with the pants I wear...but I think the water belt pushed them down too much while I ran. Guess I am going to start rocking the boxer briefs or compression shorts....good times.

I feel that any run over 10 miles is an accomplishment in and of itself...today was no different. This is only the 3rd time I have run at least 10 miles so I will take the pride that comes from it and enjoy it against the deadness in my legs. My time was not quite what I am hoping for, but it was pretty close to I will take it. 1 hr 40 min and 47 secs. Need to keep getting stronger in my core to help when I get tired. I can tell sit-up/crunch work is paying off.

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=41.320687,-105.557671&daddr=Reynolds+St+to:S+3rd+St%2FBusiness+I+80%2FUS-287%2FUS-30+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:N+30th+St+to:E+Harney+St+to:E+Harney+St&hl=en&geocode=%3BFUuZdgIdvc60-Q%3BFeJfdgIdjMW0-Q%3BFWFVdgId4yq1-Q%3BFaNpdgIdvFG1-Q%3BFRaBdgIdV0y1-Q%3BFap4dgIdPwa1-Q&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=0&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5&dirflg=w&sll=41.3203,-105.562048&sspn=0.013827,0.026779&ie=UTF8&ll=41.317109,-105.565352&spn=0.013828,0.026779&z=15

Then after I did that I did this:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=N+30th+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:S+3rd+St%2FBusiness+I+80%2FUS-287%2FUS-30+to:41.318689,-105.581703+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=FRCBdgIdUFG1-Q%3BFYlldgId0VG1-Q%3BFTJVdgIdmi-1-Q%3BFedcdgIdMcW0-Q%3B%3BFVZ1dgIdEP-0-Q&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=4&sz=14&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.322621,-105.573463&sspn=0.027653,0.053558&ie=UTF8&z=14