I really need to eat healthier the night before a long run. Had some McDonald's last night and it did not sit well in my stomach while I ran. So just a weird to the wise (wiser than me anyway) don't eat it! The weather was actually pretty nice. I was hoping for some light peaceful snowfall while I ran, but it wasn't in the cards. There were clouds, but also quite a bit of sunshine(in Laramie....go figure). Think the windchill was in the teens at the start. I felt some odd pain within my inner thigh while I was walking, just stiffness I guess. I went away fairly quickly.
I tried to tell myself at the beginning that I need to not be so concerned with time. The key is to get through these longer runs not blow the doors of them. By about a mile and a half in I was trying to go hard, I need to be better about it.
The run overall went pretty well. By about mile 6 I was pretty beat but kept going. Running up "the hill" seemed to go slow but I did indeed make it to the top. I had another idea about timing with the traffic lights and decided to just stop and start the stopwatch every time I hit a red light. This worked well with the timing...but really hurt me trying to get into a running groove. Almost got tagged by an idiot looking to turn right on red without checking to his left of off 3rd. Really made me mad. I pay attention to crosswalk/lights for a reason wish cars would do the same.
Around mile 8 started to have some chaffing (sexy I know) and that is something that is unacceptable. I hadn't been having this problem before with the pants I wear...but I think the water belt pushed them down too much while I ran. Guess I am going to start rocking the boxer briefs or compression shorts....good times.
I feel that any run over 10 miles is an accomplishment in and of itself...today was no different. This is only the 3rd time I have run at least 10 miles so I will take the pride that comes from it and enjoy it against the deadness in my legs. My time was not quite what I am hoping for, but it was pretty close to I will take it. 1 hr 40 min and 47 secs. Need to keep getting stronger in my core to help when I get tired. I can tell sit-up/crunch work is paying off.
My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=41.320687,-105.557671&daddr=Reynolds+St+to:S+3rd+St%2FBusiness+I+80%2FUS-287%2FUS-30+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:N+30th+St+to:E+Harney+St+to:E+Harney+St&hl=en&geocode=%3BFUuZdgIdvc60-Q%3BFeJfdgIdjMW0-Q%3BFWFVdgId4yq1-Q%3BFaNpdgIdvFG1-Q%3BFRaBdgIdV0y1-Q%3BFap4dgIdPwa1-Q&mra=dme&mrcr=0&mrsp=0&sz=15&via=1,2,3,4,5&dirflg=w&sll=41.3203,-105.562048&sspn=0.013827,0.026779&ie=UTF8&ll=41.317109,-105.565352&spn=0.013828,0.026779&z=15
Then after I did that I did this:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=N+30th+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:S+3rd+St%2FBusiness+I+80%2FUS-287%2FUS-30+to:41.318689,-105.581703+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=FRCBdgIdUFG1-Q%3BFYlldgId0VG1-Q%3BFTJVdgIdmi-1-Q%3BFedcdgIdMcW0-Q%3B%3BFVZ1dgIdEP-0-Q&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=4&sz=14&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.322621,-105.573463&sspn=0.027653,0.053558&ie=UTF8&z=14
About Me
- sdowney509
- I completed my first ING New York City Marathon on November 1st, 2009 in 4 hours 55 minutes and 5 seconds. This will be my fourth marathon and I am going to bust my butt to break 4 hours on November 7th, 2010.
Saturday, January 24, 2009
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment