About Me

My photo
I completed my first ING New York City Marathon on November 1st, 2009 in 4 hours 55 minutes and 5 seconds. This will be my fourth marathon and I am going to bust my butt to break 4 hours on November 7th, 2010.

Wednesday, January 21, 2009

Wednesday 6 miles and I am spent

So I have really given up on trying to sleep right at night. It just isn't in the cards for me with everything going on. I got up at 6:30 and rolled out of bed at 6:37. After what seems like an eternity getting dressed I headed outside. The sun was starting to come up and I could still see the moon, which is really nice that early. My first mile I passed by a couple of runners which is always nice to see. The traffic lights really drive me nuts in the morning...it seems to stop me a lot (sidenote...I do calculate the time out of my run when I post my times....full disclosure). Overall the run was ok...I had a bit of pain in my shoulder that last for about 3 miles but that was it until I stopped running and took my shower. I will have to post my time later because I don't have it in front of me...but I know I was a tad better than 9 minute mile, so that makes me happy. The recovery time is something that is starting to concern me. I thought I gave myself plenty of time to relax and get showered but my legs had other plans. They have an overall ache in them that I do not enjoy. I think I need more time resting in the hot water(please don't suggest ice baths...I am not at that point of insanity...yet). I have told myself on Wednesday I am just not going to get anything done during the 1 hour break I have in the morning. I just come home...eat some breakfast....and lay down for about half an hour. Having to work that afternoon makes that down time all the more necessary. Thanks to you that are following (and voting in my poll) I hope you all have a great day. And Happy Birthday Jessica!

My route:
http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=E+Harney+St&daddr=N+30th+St+to:N+22nd+St+to:Business+I+80%2FE+Grand+Ave%2FUS-30+to:41.326682,-105.591145+to:E+Gibbon+St&hl=en&geocode=Fap4dgIdgAa1-Q%3BFVtmdgIdylG1-Q%3BFRNZdgIdZTW1-Q%3BFRtbdgIdg8a0-Q%3B%3BFXR1dgIdHf20-Q&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=4&sz=13&via=1,2,3,4&sll=41.309019,-105.56385&sspn=0.065762,0.153809&ie=UTF8&ll=41.319946,-105.576382&spn=0.016438,0.038452&z=15

ok....so I guess I lied...my time for today was 54:48....so I did indeed miss it (9 min mile) again. Grrrrrrrrrrr!

1 comment:

  1. Hey, thanks Sean! :) A shout out from your blog is pretty cool! Jeff did the ice bath thing this summer when he was training for his 10-miler... it did indeed suck, he said, but he did notice a difference on the days he did them. I'm with you, though, I couldn't do it myself.

    ReplyDelete